The History of Walker Hill
The house was built in 1867. It was originally set on 245 acres at the end of South Hill St. The Walker family purchased the property in 1905 after the death of Benjamin M. Milner, the original owner. The property became one of Griffin’s first dairies. When the dairy farm was discontinued in 1933, the property became a permanent residence for the Walker Family. Over the decades, family members have collected objects that have become rare antiques in the 21st century. Recently, this collection has been assembled for public viewing.
This rich history has allowed Walker Hill to be transformed into a museum showcasing southern life in the 1900s.
Walker Hill is a “must see” destination in Griffin, GA We are a private museum open by appointment only with special consideration given to school field trips.
NOTE: All photographs for this website are courtesy of Bonnie M. Morét Photography www.bonniemoret.com.